You are renamed.

Today’s post is inspired by the study of Ruth from #shereadstruth and also what God is teaching me in my life. I’ve said before, and I’ll say it for the rest of my life, I know God wants me to be learning something when it is continually presented to me in my life, in various ways. Today’s post is inspired by #shesharestruth:

Is there a discrepancy between the names by which Jesus calls you and the names you give yourself? Are there circumstances in your life to which you are giving undue power, power that rightfully—and in reality!—belongs to our sovereign God alone? Sister, who names you today—your God or your circumstances? 

 

My whole life I have been a people pleaser. And this, my dear friends, is not a good thing.

I have only recently realized how this has changed my life, how it has negatively affected me, and how I have let it influence my relationship with Christ.

Because of my desire to live up to the ideas and standards others have for me, whether or not these are real or imagined, I have done a lot of things I never expected. Not that these are all bad, not that they have all been a negative experience, but there are things that have transpired that I wish I could take back, simply because of my desire to please other people.

So I’ve called myself broken, ugly, unloveable, unworthy, dirty – whatever negative name I think someone else may think of me in a various situation – in my sense of failing. Failing not just people, failing my God.

You see, in trying to please all these other people, I have lost sight of pleasing my God. Not that He calls me to earn my salvation through my works, but He yearns for me to honor Him through my life – my words, my actions, and my thoughts. And when I forget to serve Him through my life, I feel guilty about this unearned grace He offers me over and over, and I call myself hopeless.

And then, oh then God reminds me – that is what my story is all about!

srt

That is the story of the gospel!

Yes I am broken, but He puts the pieces together again and I am used as a perfect vessel for His work.

I sure am ugly, but He calls me beautiful in the light of His glory and grace.

Unloveable – all the time. But when I allow Him to work through me, I can love better, and be more able to be loved by those around me. And He loves me. He loves me in all my dirty sin. Oh, how He loves!

And you better believe I am unworthy – not only am I unworthy of life, a job, my friends, my family, all the material things I have, etc. – I am unworthy of His beautiful grace and mercy, His salvation and the relationship He longs to have with me. Oh friends, I am unworthy. He makes me worthy through the death of His son.

Dirty – the dirtiest. So unclean and so full of sin. But praise be to God, He calls me clean. He has washed me white as snow.

still

I urge you to stop calling yourself these terrible names. For the following week, when you think a negative thought, immediately stop yourself and consider how God sees you. Tell yourself that 3 times in place of the time you would be hard on yourself.

Change your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “You are renamed.

Leave a Reply

