Fix Your Eyes

Lately, there are two songs I play over and over. Both are titled “Fix My Eyes.” One, is by For King and Country and the other by Kings Kaleidoscope. The words by Kings Kaleidoscope read:

“When my heart is weary, when my soul is weak When it seems I can’t traverse the trail before me I survey the glory of your agony And I find the will to fight for what’s before me Cause you ran the race enduring for your glory I fix my eyes on you, the founder and the finisher of our faith I fix my eyes on you, the solace in your suffering is my strength As I fight to follow, you’re my righteous guide And you train me to delight in all that’s holy Heal my broken body, cure my crooked stride Throw off every weight and sin that clings so closely I will run the race enduring for your glory You help me breathe, you’re the only life I need You died for me, you’re the only life I need”

They ring so true in my life right now. The road feels weary, my soul feels weak, I feel weighed down by “sin that clings so closely.” And yesterday, God reminded me of those words and spoke softly to my heart, “fix your eyes on Me. Look at the cross; make your identity simply Me. Strive always to be more like Me.” When I fix my eyes on Him,

It doesn’t matter what my body looks like.

It doesn’t matter if I look like a fool.

It doesn’t matter if I mess up.

It doesn’t matter if he breaks my heart.

It doesn’t matter if they don’t approve.

If my focus is on the glory of God, it doesn’t matter.

madewithOver

I hear the scoffs already – you can’t just do whatever you want, you’ll offend people and that’s not showing Christ’s love. You’ll make them mad. You’ll get lazy, you’ll be sloppy. I get it. But if your focus is truly on becoming more like Christ and dying to yourself, those things won’t have the same meaning.   How can you switch your focus to the glory of God rather than the glorification of yourself?

One thought on “Fix Your Eyes

Leave a Reply

