the idol you didn’t know you had [scripture]

Before I list some resources online for you regarding various idols and others’ suggestions of how to let them go, I just want to give you a list of scripture regarding idols.

Let God work in your heart through His word.

Ezekiel 6:8-9 “…How I have been grieved by their adulterous hearts, which have turned away from me, and by their eyes, which have lusted after their idols. They will loathe themselves for the evil they have done and for all their detestable practices.”

2 Kings 17:40-41They would not listen, however, but persisted in their former practices. Even while these people were worshipping the Lord, they were serving their idols. To this day their children and grandchildren continue to do as their fathers did.”

Exodus 20:3-6 “’You shall have no other gods before me. ‘You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth. You shall not bow down to them or serve them, for I the Lord your God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children to the third and the fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing steadfast love to thousands of those who love me and keep my commandments.'”

Colossians 3:5 “Put to death therefore what is earthly in you: sexual immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry.”

rid

Galatians 5:19-21Now the works of the flesh are evident: sexual immorality, impurity, sensuality, idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, fits of anger, rivalries, dissensions, divisions, envy, drunkenness, orgies, and things like these. I warn you, as I warned you before, that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.”

Jeremiah 1:16And I will declare my judgments against them, for all their evil in forsaking me. They have made offerings to other gods and worshiped the works of their own hands.”

 

One thought on “the idol you didn’t know you had [scripture]

  1. Pingback: the idol you didn’t know you had [resources] | polka dots & plaid

Leave a Reply

