the idol you didn’t know you had [introduction]

This is the start of a series I felt was really important. I think we have a problem in modern day Christianity and I want to address it. I have spent a lot of time thinking, reading, and praying about the topic, trying to figure out how best to approach it. So I’m going to be bold, I’m going to ask you to seek God, and I’m going to pray that our heart is softened to the whispers God is speaking to you.

I’m going to talk to you about idolatry.

I’m going to be very candid with you.

I recently had an idol revealed. I have been praying and considering sin in my life and really trying to seek God in the unseen sins of my life (by unseen I mean the sins I don’t even really realize ARE sins). There are things in my life that I KNOW are sins, things that are blatant and obvious. But then, there are parts of my life I feel uncomfortable about, things I wish I could change but struggle with, but things that may not look like sin to my neighbor.

So, I will share with you the idol God revealed to me in my life as just that, an idol.

Then, I will list some common idols in modern-day Christianity.

After we review what some idols are today, I want to explore what scripture says about idolatry.

Finally, I will do my best to provide resources for releasing your idols and working with God to remove them from your life.

madewithOver

This is a journey that will be tough.

We can do it.

Today, pray for God to open your eyes and soften your heart. Then thank Him for His grace and mercy, and thank Him today for what He will reveal to you tomorrow. 

 

2 thoughts on “the idol you didn’t know you had [introduction]

  1. Pingback: the idol you didn’t knew you had [my story]. | polka dots & plaid

  2. Pingback: the idol you didn’t know you had [identify them]. | polka dots & plaid

Leave a Reply

