Before works (sin series)

As I previously said, I’ve been thinking a lot about sin lately.

It’s overwhelming.

Yesterday, I was brought to tears during the singing/worship time at church. I was reminded of how God feels about me, no matter what I have done, am doing, or will do. Here are some quotes from Crash the Chatterbox by Steven Furtick I also read that struck me deep:

“…every weakness you know about yourself, God knows in greater detail than you could ever imagine. He knows the defect as well as what causes the defect.” (p. 27)

“Before you were born – before any of your defects were apparent to you – they were absolutely apparent to God. That didn’t stop Him from calling your name and setting you apart. He placed you on the earth at a certain time for pre-decided purpose.” (p.27)

“…even when you can’t seem to get your act together, your identity is secure and completely intact. Because in Christ, who you are matters infinitely more than anything you do or cannot do.” (p.27)

Furtick tells the story of Jesus being baptized in Matthew 3:16-17 and the point when He received God’s approval – at the beginning of his ministry, before Jesus had actually started doing anything he had been called to at this point.

Before he had the chance to use works to earn God’s favor. 

It is the same for you and I. God loved us the minute He created us, or probably before, however that time thing works with God.

He loved you and He loved me before we had the chance to try and use our works to “get on his good side.”  I’ll explore this more later, but for today, dwell on this:

20140323-142655.jpg

One thought on “Before works (sin series)

  1. Pingback: Matter of the heart? (sin series) | polka dots & plaid

Leave a Reply

