Let it Go [again].

In a previous post I asked you – what are you holding on to that is holding you back?

Lately, I have been overwhelmed thinking about the way sin can hold us back even after we have been forgiven. We live in dark, ugly, dingy shame and guilt and regret when if we have asked, Jesus has made us white as snow and set us free!

“Come now, and let us reason together,” Says the LORD, “Though your sins are as scarlet, They will be as white as snow; Though they are red like crimson, They will be like wool. (Isaiah 1:18)

Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come. 2 (Corinthians 5:17)

For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast. (Ephesians 2:8-9)

There are two types of confession beneficial for being forgiven and freed from sin, one necessary:

  1. Confession and asking of forgiveness from Jesus.
  2. Confession to a friend.

Look at Psalm 38:

Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven,
whose sin is covered.
Blessed is the man against whom the Lord counts no iniquity,
and in whose spirit there is no deceit.

For when I kept silent, my bones wasted away
through my groaning all day long.
For day and night your hand was heavy upon me;
my strength was dried up as by the heat of summer. Selah

I acknowledged my sin to you,
and I did not cover my iniquity;
I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,”
and you forgave the iniquity of my sin.

Therefore let everyone who is godly
offer prayer to you at a time when you may be found;
surely in the rush of great waters,
they shall not reach him.
You are a hiding place for me;
you preserve me from trouble;
you surround me with shouts of deliverance

To be honest, I don’t know if this just means that David confessed his sins to God or if he confessed to a trusted brother, as well. But I think confession to someone in confidence can be freeing – it can provide accountability. Warning: you have to choose wisely. Only you know who you can truly trust – who will not walk away, who will not use your confessed sin against you, who will not tell others about your confession. There are only a couple people I will confess my sins to after I have confessed to Christ, and sometimes I choose not to confess at all. At this time, for now. What sin are you letting keep you dirty and guilty? What sin have you refused the grace and forgiveness of Jesus Christ our Lord?

psalm32

What sin are you letting keep you dirty and guilty? What sin have you refused the grace and forgiveness of Jesus Christ our Lord?

Let it go.

So, dear one, Christ has already broken the bond between sin and your heart. He has declared you free and clear, pardoned by the Highest King. Do not let you shame chain you again to your past sins. Be intimately bonded to Christ instead, the Hope of Glory. – She Reads Truth

Leave a comment